The Tassajara Bread Book

The Tassajara Bread Book Author Edward Espe Brown
ISBN-10 0834823012
Year 2011-02-15
Pages 192
Language en
Publisher Shambhala Publications
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The Tassajara Bread Book has been a favorite among renowned chefs and novice bakers alike for more than thirty years. In this deluxe edition, the same gentle, clear instructions and wonderful recipes are presented in a new paperback format with an updated interior design and full-color photos of the breads. Deborah Madison, author of Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, says, "This little book has long been a guide for those who want to bake but don’t know where to begin, as well as for those who want to go beyond and discover not just recipes, but bread making itself."

The Tassajara Bread Book

The Tassajara Bread Book Author Edward Espe Brown
ISBN-10 9781590307045
Year 2009
Pages 168
Language en
Publisher Shambhala Publications
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In a deluxe edition of the international bestseller that started a generation of Americans baking nearly thirty years ago, the author shows how to make--and enjoy--breads, pastries, muffins, and desserts for today's sophisticated palates.

The Tassajara Bread Book

The Tassajara Bread Book Author Edward Espe Brown
ISBN-10 0877730253
Year 1970
Pages 145
Language en
Publisher Taylor & Francis
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A collection of bread and baked goods recipes from the Zen Mountain Center in Tassajara, California.

Tassajara Cooking

Tassajara Cooking Author Edward Espe Brown
ISBN-10 0877733449
Year 1986
Pages 255
Language en
Publisher Shambhala Publications
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Gives advice on cooking vegetables, grains, beans, dairy products, and fruits and tells how to plan healthful and interesting vegetarian meals

The Complete Tassajara Cookbook

The Complete Tassajara Cookbook Author Edward Espe Brown
ISBN-10 9780834822016
Year 2011-05-24
Pages 544
Language en
Publisher Shambhala Publications
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

California's Tassajara Zen Mountain Center has long been renowned for its gourmet vegetarian cuisine. In this comprehensive guide to the Tassajara way of cooking, the retreat center–spa's most celebrated chef, Edward Espe Brown, presents hundreds of recipes using fresh, whole foods; detailed notes on preparing seasonal ingredients; and, perhaps most important, inspiration for cooking with joyful intention and attention. Presented with humor and warmth, this book is full of insights for living a life that celebrates simple food.

The Secrets of Jesuit Breadmaking

The Secrets of Jesuit Breadmaking Author Rick Curry
ISBN-10 9780060951184
Year 1995-06-24
Pages 256
Language en
Publisher Harper Collins
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In the tradition of The Tassajara Bread Book, Brother Curry combines 80 mouth-watering recipes for bread--gathered from Jesuit brothers around the world--with his spiritual insights on meditation through bread-baking.

Beard On Bread

Beard On Bread Author James Beard
ISBN-10 9780307790552
Year 2011-10-12
Pages 256
Language en
Publisher Knopf
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The bestselling, classic book on baking bread, from the “Dean of American Gastronomy”—featuring his 100 favorite recipes and variations. From Buttermilk White Bread to Whole-Meal Bread with Potatoes, and from Challah to Crumpets, Beard brings together recipes from across America and around the world. Including a 12-point list of remedies for improving one’s loaf, and a wonderful variety of different types of bread to bake—plain, whole-meal, and sweetened breads, batter breads, baking powder and soda breads, rolls, flat breads, filled breads, fried breads, and more—this is the only book the home baker needs in order to master the art of making bread.

Tassajara Dinners Desserts

Tassajara Dinners   Desserts Author Dale and Melissa Kent
ISBN-10 1423611063
Year 2009-01-12
Pages 224
Language en
Publisher Gibbs Smith
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In TASSAJARA: DINNERS & DESSERTS, readers will not only find recipes filled with the flavor of Zen practice but also stories from past guest cooks, such as Deborah Madison, Ed Brown, Gloria Lee, and many others. Their calm and peaceful minds were truly tested behind the doors of the Tassajara kitchen, whose monastic kitchen differs from a normal restaurant kitchen in that the activity of preparing the food is understood to be spiritual practice. The Tassajara Zen Mountain Center teaches that every aspect of one's day can be lived with mindfulness-even food preparations and choices of what we eat. A FEW OF THE FIFTY RECIPES INCLUDE: Frittata with Caramelized Onions, Goat Cheese, and Sage Coconut Curry with Mixed Vegetables Tofu Neatballs Sweet Tapioca Soup with Honeydew Ricotta Chevre with Ginger Berry Compote.

The Tassajara Recipe Book

The Tassajara Recipe Book Author Edward Espe Brown
ISBN-10 1570625808
Year 2000
Pages 229
Language en
Publisher Shambhala Publications
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A revised edition of the popular vegetarian cookbook from the the Tassajara Zen Center adds twenty-nine new recipes to the already ample collection of dishes featured in the book. Original.

Not Always So

Not Always So Author Shunryu Suzuki
ISBN-10 0060197854
Year 2002-05-28
Pages 176
Language en
Publisher Harper
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Practicing the True Spirit of Zen Not Always So is based on Shunryu Suzuki's lectures and is framed in his own inimitable allusive, paradoxical style, rich with unexpected and off–centre insights. Suzuki knew he was dying at the time of the lectures, which gives his thoughts an urgency and focus even sharper than in the earlier book. In Not Always So Suzuki Roshi once again voices Zen in everyday language with the vigour, sensitivity, and buoyancy of a true friend. Here is support and nourishment. Here is a mother and father lending a hand, but letting you find your own way. Here is guidance which empowers your freedom (or way–seeking mind), rather than pinning you down to directions and techniques. Here is teaching which encourages you to touch and know your true heart and to express yourself fully, teaching which is not teaching from outside, but a voice arising in your own being.

The Laurel s Kitchen Bread Book

The Laurel s Kitchen Bread Book Author Laurel Robertson
ISBN-10 9780307761163
Year 2011-03-02
Pages 464
Language en
Publisher Random House
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The original, classic cookbook devoted to baking honest, delectable and nutritious whole grain breads. In a special section, the author has compiled a comprehensive and meticulous breadmaking "handbook". From the Trade Paperback edition.

Fika

Fika Author Anna Brones
ISBN-10 9781607745877
Year 2015-04-07
Pages 168
Language en
Publisher Ten Speed Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

An illustrated lifestyle cookbook on the Swedish tradition of fika--a twice-daily coffee break--including recipes for traditional baked goods, information and anecdotes about Swedish coffee culture, and the roots and modern incarnations of this cherished custom. Sweden is one of the world’s top coffee consuming nations, and the twice-daily social coffee break known as fika is a cherished custom. Fika can be had alone or in groups, indoors or outdoors, while traveling or at home. A time to take a rest from work and chat with friends or colleagues over a cup and a sweet treat, fika reflects the Swedish ideal of slowing down to appreciate life’s small joys. In this adorable illustrated cookbook, Anna Brones and Johanna Kindvall share nearly fifty classic recipes from their motherland—from cinnamon buns and ginger snaps to rhubarb cordial and rye bread—allowing all of us to enjoy this charming tradition regardless of where we live. From the Hardcover edition.

The Mindful Cook

The Mindful Cook Author Isaac Cronin
ISBN-10 0375502750
Year 1999
Pages 174
Language en
Publisher
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Offering a spiritual approach to the art of cookery, a collection of essays, exercises, and recipes helps would-be cooks find fulfillment, satisfaction, and joy in the experience of food preparation. 25,000 first printing. Tour.

How to Cook Your Life

How to Cook Your Life Author Dogen
ISBN-10 9780834824324
Year 2005-11-08
Pages 136
Language en
Publisher Shambhala Publications
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

In the thirteenth century, Zen master Dogen—perhaps the most significant of all Japanese philosophers, and the founder of the Japanese Soto Zen sect—wrote a practical manual of Instructions for the Zen Cook. In drawing parallels between preparing meals for the Zen monastery and spiritual training, he reveals far more than simply the rules and manners of the Zen kitchen; he teaches us how to "cook," or refine our lives. In this volume Kosho Uchiyama Roshi undertakes the task of elucidating Dogen's text for the benefit of modern-day readers of Zen. Taken together, his translation and commentary truly constitute a "cookbook for life," one that shows us how to live with an unbiased mind in the midst of our workaday world.